Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life.

Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1210
What is a Sacrament?

A Sacrament is an outward sign established by Jesus Christ to confer inward grace. In more basic terms, it is a rite that is performed to convey God’s grace to the recipient, through the power of the Holy Spirit.

There are seven Sacraments, often organized into three categories: The Sacraments of Initiation, The Sacraments of Healing and The Sacraments of Service.

In addition to, and supportive of, the Sacraments, the ministries of Pastoral Care, EMHC (deliverers of Holy Communion) to the Sick and Homebound, and Funeral Preparation and Bereavement play critical roles in administering to the faithful during their journey through life and upon their death.


The Sacraments of Initiation, consist of Baptism, Eucharist (Holy Communion) and Confirmation.

The Sacraments of Initiation – Baptism, Confirmation, and the Eucharist – are the foundation of the Christian life. 

United States Catholic Catechism for Adults

The Sacraments of Healing consist of Penance (Confession/Reconciliation) and Anointing of the Sick.

In this Sacrament of Healing (Penance) we are reconciled to God and the Church.

Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1420-1498

The Sacraments of Service are Marriage (Matrimony) and Holy Orders.

Marriage is a Sacrament at the service of Communion.

Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1601-1666

For more information on the Sacraments, please visit the web page links or go to

Holy Family Catholic Community